Big font

This is another inspiration I drew from the Arduino forum and sparkfun’s contest on instructables.com a while ago:
I’ve seen several examples of using “Big numbers” to display time on a 16X2 character display.
I’ve seen JO3RI doing animations on a 16X2 character display.
So I asked myself, why can’t someone come up with a way to double up the size of the 16X2 character display, not just ten numbers, but all alphabets, then it’d be useful as a larger display! Time, Speed, Direction, etc.
I’ve brewed this for a while (between last night and this morning), tada!

You can see that I intentionally scaled my images down so small that it would hurt to read the standard size fonts (click to zoom) but the large font is just fine. I made an estimate with it. I can read the clock from about 4 meters (13ft) away just fine, while the standard text is visible less than half that distance away.

 

The entire thing is for now resident in SRAM (please don’t blame me. I’ve been on this since lunch. I need a break, critic and encouragement before I squeeze memory)

Everything has been integrated smoothly in my phi-menu system now.

If you just want these large fonts, take the following code, but if you want all the interactive features, you need the phi-menu.

Nutshell version code

Full version code (up soon)

12 Responses to Big font

  1. Juan Carlos says:

    Hi
    I really liked your lyrics great and I my intention to add a program that uses the library # include and as I check the program fails to include the library only

    /usr/lib/gcc/avr/4.3.5/../../../avr/include/math.h:426: error: expected unqualified-id before ‘double’
    /usr/lib/gcc/avr/4.3.5/../../../avr/include/math.h:426: error: expected `)’ before ‘double’
    /usr/lib/gcc/avr/4.3.5/../../../avr/include/math.h:426: error: expected `)’ before ‘double’

    any idea?
    thank you very much for your time
    sorry for my bad english (googlenglish) ,)

    • liudr says:

      Well, you will have to show me your complete code. You may have missed something small and that makes the compiler complain.

      Bueno, usted me tiene que mostrar su código completo. Usted puede haber perdido algo pequeño y eso hace que el compilador se queja.

      Above was googlespanish 🙂

      • Juan Carlos says:

        Thanks for your interest
        just include in the big_font_nutshell this line: # include

  2. Juan Carlos says:

    Thanks for your interest
    just include in the big_font_nutshell this line: # include
    sorry

    • liudr says:

      I think you mixed my code improperly with yours. My code is not a library. You will have to read my code, understand how I displayed the big fonts, then modify my code and include your work in it. Programming is not as simple as #include. If you don’t post your code, I suggest you post on arduino forum, I can’t help you.

  3. Juan Carlos says:

    Thanks for your interest
    just include in the big_font_nutshell this line: “# include ”
    sorry

  4. Juan Carlos says:

    Thanks for your interest
    just include in the big_font_nutshell this line: # include DS1307.h
    sorry sorrysorry but the <character does not appear

  5. Juan Carlos says:

    Hi
    Sorry for the insistence but can you help me?
    In your esketch big_font_nutshell If I include only this line to load the library #include DS1307.h , have a error:
    In file included from /home/jc/Documentos/arduino/arduino-0022_bueno/hardware/arduino/cores/arduino/WProgram.h:6,
    from big_font_nutshell.cpp:31:
    /usr/lib/gcc/avr/4.3.5/../../../avr/include/math.h:426: error: expected unqualified-id before ‘double’
    /usr/lib/gcc/avr/4.3.5/../../../avr/include/math.h:426: error: expected `)’ before ‘double’
    /usr/lib/gcc/avr/4.3.5/../../../avr/include/math.h:426: error: expected `)’ before ‘double’

    I have Arduino 022 in Ubuntu 10.10 x64 and arduino mega 1280.

    If you search in google “usr/lib/gcc/avr/4.3.5/../../../avr/include/math.h:426: error: expected unqualified-id before ‘double’” there are other person with same error.

    Sorry, but would like to implement my code with your wonderful large platter and I encounter this problem just add a line of code

    Thank you very much for your time and patience

    • liudr says:

      Juan,

      I’m making some changes on my code so you will incorporate it more easily. Will try to finish it today.

    • Ted says:

      Hey there,
      I was having this problem, and I found that if I include math.h BEFORE wiring.h is included, it works. Be aware of what other files might include wiring.h – I know WProgram.h does, so do math.h before that one too.

      • liudr says:

        Thanks for the tip. I’ll look into this next time I update the library. There might be an optimal way to include wiring.h

  6. Pingback: Phi big fonts available as a library « Liudr's Blog

Leave a Reply

Discover more from LiuDr Electronic Solutions LLC Official Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading