Shopping trip with GPS logger

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Now that I have built a GPS logger with my Phi-1 shield and arduino, I decided to take a trip to a local supermarket for a test run.

I used a car adapter (12VDC) to power my arduino. It took quite a while for the GPS to pick up signal, maybe because it was raining outside (raining in Minnesota winter? Really?)

Here is the map I got using GPS visualizer from http://www.gpsvisualizer.com

Everything seems nice although further zooming indicates that I “was driving on the other side of the road”. I guess commercial GPS does a lot of averaging to stabilize their readings. Next time I go to the cities I will carry it with me to record my trip for sure.

Leave a Reply

